Girls Riders Organization, Inc., so Hot Right Now!

Photos & Words By: Sydney Goldberg

The photographs below were taken 2.5 years ago when the Girls Riders Organization, Inc. (GRO) Founder, Courtney Payne-Taylor, was in town. Check out this survey she sent me:

1. What has GRO meant to you?

GRO made me move to Bloomington, Ind.

2. What is the best part of GRO?

It encourages girls to get down and dirty on the ramps.

3. What could make GRO even better?

Nothing

4. What has being an action sports athlete meant in your life?

It has given me somewhere to fit in. It has shown me the world. GRO has enabled me to meet people of all social status, religion, and race. It has let me be myself.

5. What inspired you to learn to ride?

My boredom with society’s standard of what a girl should be.

6. What was your biggest fear and how did you get over it?

My biggest fear was speed, and I got over it by realizing I could take baby steps.

7. What would you tell another girl who is interested in learning to ride?

Do it because you have nothing to lose! Life is too short to regret anything.


8. What has riding taught you?

How to act outgoing, confident, determined, and strong.

9. What would you like to share?

Without skateboarding I don’t know where I’d be. It was the one thing that nobody could take away from me. Sometimes, skating is the only activity that makes me happy. After you have a great skate session, your day seems perfect.

Sydney Goldberg is a senior at Indiana University studying Journalism, Studio Art, and Art History. Twitter me ♥

One Response to Girls Riders Organization, Inc., so Hot Right Now!

  1. So habe ich das noch nie betrachtet, aber Du hast recht.

Leave a Reply

