College, so Hot Right Now!

By Sydney Goldberg

I can’t sleep but it’s okay.

Eight of my new friends await me at the parking garage across from Subway. The spiral rollercoaster is deserted except for a few cars and minuscule rocks that season the area. Lets skate to the top where the sky is pure black. Street lamps reveal which way is down. Triple Eight slide gloves keep my hands safe, while I touch the asphalt. We wind down each corner staying in a pack. Cars back out, even when midnight strikes. “Make yourself big,” Colby said. That is how you avoid getting hit but I crouch into a ball instead. Speed takes time to get used to. Every so often, I drag my thick Nike heel on the pavement to break. Eight of my new friends await me at the dead end of the parking garage across from the School of Optometry.

I can’t sleep because I’m finally free.

Search “IU Longboarding” on Facebook to join.

Sydney Goldberg is a senior at Indiana University studying Journalism, Studio Art, and Art History. Twitter me ♥

Leave a Reply

